Postcard Display Wall <3

IMG_20150414_181921I love collecting postcards. Anytime I go somewhere, I pick up at least one postcard, but often times more. I like the unique ones. The ones that speak up for the place I’m visiting outside of their skyline or landscape cliches.

Whenever a friend is going out of town, I ask them to pick one up for me if it’s not too much trouble.

My old roommie – you know who you are 😉 – and I had so many postcards between the two of us. She travels like crazy, so she had a lot of great ones that I didn’t have and vice versa. We made a collage on an empty wall in our apartment of postcards on postcards on postcards.

Since we’ve moved a part, I wanted to continue my postcard display. What’s the point of having such an awesome collection if I wasn’t going to show it off? But I didn’t want to just tape them to the wall. First of all, it looks tacky, and second of all it ruins the post cards. So I started, and still do, find as many different frames from thrift stores as I can that would fit a post card. They aren’t all a perfect fit. Sometimes I had to put construction paper behind the postcard so it didn’t show too much cardboard backing. Sometimes I had to fold a miniscule amount of the edges of the post card to fit it in. But there’s nothing like the feeling of when the postcard fits perfectly into the perfect frame. Bliss.

So now, I have a postcard display wall in my living room that I adore! I want to expand it more (I still have plenty to display and intend to collect more), but don’t want to overwhelm the space. I might have to switch out cards here and there to keep things flowing.

I know, however, that wherever I end up living in the future will definitly always have my postcard display =D

2 thoughts on “Postcard Display Wall <3

Leave a comment